National Junior Honor Society Welcomes New Members

National Junior Honor Society Welcomes New Members Photo

Sixteen students were recognized for their academic achievements and good character when they were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society at Edmund W. Miles Middle School in the Amityville Union Free School District.

The afternoon ceremony on May 15 featured a candle-lighting ceremony to mark the five traits required for membership: scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship. Speakers included Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mary T. Kelly, Principal Edward Plaia and Assistant Principal Kristy Pagliari, who told the inductees to continue to embrace those values.  

Honor society members, under the direction of adviser Carlee Wallenstein, perform several community service activities a year. They volunteer at the family learning nights at Northeast and Northwest elementary schools and raise money for the Make-A-Wish foundation.

The new members are Yaneli Amaya, Mikhail Ankudovych, Saniya Bryant, Melissa Contreras, Brandon Dennis, Sanabria Denixon, Brandon Fernandez, Julianna Figueroa, David Fuentes, Alex Hargrove, Randy Jerez, Andielynn Llama, Gianely McCatty, Samanta Molina, Scott Pineda and Samirah Rouzier. They were joined by family members and their fellow seventh-grade classmates.

“These students are our future,” Mr. Plaia said. “Our future is bright because they are going to be in charge.”