Amityville Honors its Athletic Legends

Amityville Honors its Athletic Legends photo

The eight inductees into the Amityville Memorial High School Sports Hall of Fame represented generations of athletes and coaches whose accomplishments were celebrated at a ceremony on Oct. 5.

The members of the Class of 2018 included Leighton Clarke, Theresa Findlay, Aaron Garrett, Eugene Nottingham, James Porr, Barbour Williams and Darrel Young. Miles Borden, a former coach, received the Lifetime Achievement Award. The Sports Hall of Fame now boasts 91 members.

Leighton Clarke, a 1984 graduate, was a member of the cross country and track and field teams. He was a four-year varsity letterman, an All-League, All-Conference, All-County and All-Long Island athlete, and captain during his junior and senior years. As a senior, he finished second at the Eastern States in the 1600-meter race walk and won the C.W. Post Suffolk County Coaches Invitational 5K race walk with a record-setting time.

Theresa Findlay (1992) played four sports during her time at Amityville Memorial High School. She was a captain for her basketball, soccer and track and field teams, and earned athletic scholarships in those sports. Theresa was a three-sport All-County and All-League athlete and All-Long Island in basketball and track and field. Additionally, she was a member of the girls volleyball team.

Aaron Garrett (1999) was on the varsity track and field team for four years and wrestling and football for three years. He achieved All-League honors in football, All-League and All-County in wrestling, and All-League, All-Division and All-County in track and field. Aaron played in the Suffolk County All-Star football game in 1999, was part of the 1997 boys track and field League V Division III championship team, and was a track and field county champion in the pentathlon.

Eugene Nottingham (2000) played football and basketball for Amityville. He was a three-year starter on the varsity football team, earning All-League honors three times, All-County honors twice and All-Long Island honors as a senior. Additionally, he received the Hanson Award in 2000 which is given to the Outstanding Football Player in Suffolk County.

James “Jimmy” Porr (1977) wrestled and ran for the track and field team. He finished second in the Amityville Wrestling Tournament as a junior and won the event as a senior. His track and field accomplishments include an undefeated freshman season in which he set the school record in the 880-yard sprint, a victory in the conference championships in the 440-yard sprint as a junior and a gold medal at the New York State Track and Field Championships in the distance medley as a senior.

Barbour “Bob” Williams (1936) was a member of the football and track teams. The football team was undefeated during his senior year. In track, he was known as the “Amityville Flash” for his dominance in sprint events and the 100-yard and 220-yard dashes. He passed away in 1994 and was represented by his daughter, Ella, at the ceremony.

Darrell Young (2005) has the only retired football jersey in Amityville, with his number 31 banner hanging in the gymnasium. He was named an All-County athlete as a sophomore, junior and senior, and was the team’s MVP for three seasons. Recognition included the Collotta Award for Most Outstanding Linebacker in Suffolk County as a junior and a selection to the Boomer Esiason Foundation Empire Challenge High School All-Star game. Darrel went to Villanova University on a full scholarship and played for the Washington Redskins for six seasons. 

Miles Borden worked in the district for 32 years as a mechanical drawing teacher, assistant principal, principal and assistant superintendent. He coached cross country and track from 1952 to 1957. 

Celebrating the accomplishments of the inductees were family members, friends, coaches, high school and central office administrators and board of education trustees. Student volunteers from the high school served dinner. 

The eight honorees were selected by the Sports Hall of Fame Committee, with First Vice Chairman Bruce Pescitelli serving as emcee and introducing the honorees.

Committee Chairman Reynolds Hawkins said the Hall of Fame was founded to honor the legacy of Amityville athletics and bring recognition to its legendary athletes. Superintendent Dr. Mary T. Kelly added that all of the inductees embody the Warriors’ ideals and values, such as good sportsmanship and pride.