National Junior Honor Society Welcomes 22

National Junior Honor Society Welcomes 22 photo thumbnail118679

The National Junior Honor Society chapter at Edmund W. Miles Middle School in 22 members stronger as students were recognized for both academic achievement and good character at an induction ceremony on April 29.

Celebrating their accomplishment were fellow seventh graders, teachers and proud family members along with representatives from the Amityville Board of Education and administration. Principal Edward Plaia welcomed the inductees into the prestigious organization and commended their parents for instilling in them the values of education and character.

Amityville’s National Junior Honor Society chapter participates in several community service initiatives each year. Students do academic tutoring and volunteer their time at the elementary school family learning nights and the middle school’s veterans appreciation day, among other activities.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mary T. Kelly also spoke with the inductees, focusing on the honor society’s five virtues – character, citizenship, leadership, scholarship and service. Eighth grade honor society members lit candles symbolizing each of those values.  

The inductees include Bryce Benymon, Sydni Blake, Christopher Blanchard, Jeiliz Cardenas, Ayden Catron, Margaret Catron, Kyndai Chandler, Jayson Chicas, Brayan Cisneros, Winifert Espinal, Lindsay Guevara, Donovan McRae, Kyra Lee, Danyella McAlpin, Osauyi Ojo, Kristen Preza, Katya Ramos Rojas, Ashlyn Rodriguez Orellana, Taylor Rollins, Madeline Shingleton, Amin Shah and Ramon Yanes. They were called up to the stage where they received their certificates and congratulated by Mr. Plaia, assistant principals Paul Duguay and Earl Mitchell, and adviser Carlee Brunson. At the end of the ceremony, each student presented a blue carnation to an influential person in his or her life.