Ninth Graders Promoted to High School

Ninth Graders Promoted to High School photo thumbnail121539

A winning attitude and self-discipline are the keys to success, Edmund W. Miles Middle School Acting Principal Earl Mitchell told ninth graders as they prepare to embark on their journey to Amityville Memorial High School.

The middle school hosted its ninth grade awards ceremony on June 25, celebrating the high school Class of 2022. Mr. Mitchell encouraged each student to read at least two good books over the summer to keep their minds sharp. When they return in September, they should enter their new school with a positive mindset.

“Don’t let any excuse hinder your success,” he said.

Superintendent Dr. Mary T. Kelly said that just weeks prior, the ninth graders saw members of this year’s graduating class traverse through the middle school halls for the annual senior walk. In three years, it will be their turn, and by that time they will be well prepared for the challenges of college, careers and the world.

Dr. Kelly noted that it is an exciting time in the district for the ninth graders. A major renovation and expansion project is under way at the high school, and once completed in about a year those students will get to enjoy new classrooms, state-of-the-art science labs, an indoor athletic complex and upgraded library media center.  

Administrators and teachers presented students with several awards. They recognized the ninth graders with the top grade in each subject as well as those who have sustained high grades during their middle school years. 

The Amityville Teachers Association Award of Excellence went to Mikhail Ankudovych and Andielynn Llamas while New York State Comptroller Award was presented to Brandon Dennis. Brandon and Samanta Molina also earned the Attorney General’s Triple C award for courage, character and commitment. Scott Pineda was recognized for his perfect attendance.

Warrior of the Year honors went to Kayla Marrero and Bryan Vanegas. Mr. Mitchell introduced a new award this year, Warrior the Year faculty members, which was presented to Erica Azzara and Kerry Kearney.